Rat Naps: Band 01b/Pink B | TheBookSeekers

Rat Naps: Band 01b/Pink B

Collins Big Cat Phonics

Key stage: Key Stage 0
National Curriculum: Stepping Stones, Early Years

, ,

No. of pages 16

Great for age 4-11 years

Sid is a rat at the tip, he lives there with his friends Cam and Tim. But while they sleep soundly in their snug beds Rick the cat is on the look out for some dinner. This exciting story is vividly illustrated by Tomislav Zlatic.

This is a Band 01B/Pink B book in the Collins Big Cat reading programme which is a simple story with a familiar setting. This fiction book uses the focus phonemes s, a, d, t, p, i, n, r, ck, o, m, c, u, g and e. A picture of the tip on pages 14 and 15 shows all the rats' sleeping spots as well as Rick - on the hunt - to help children recap the story. This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader. For more guided reading books in this Collins Big Cat band, try In the Jungle (9780007512683) by Becca Heddle.


This book is part of a book series called Collins Big Cat Phonics .

This book is at the foundation stage (early years) of the key stage system. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers children from birth to age 5 years. A key stage is any of the fixed stages into which the national curriculum is divided, each having its own prescribed course of study. At the end of each stage, pupils are required to complete standard assessment tasks. This book is at national curriculum levels Early Years, Stepping Stones . The National Curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages. Early years refers to the standards that school and childcare providers must meet for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5. Stepping Stones relates to development in Reception. Each National Curriculum level is divided into sub-levels, where Level C means that a child is working at the lower end of the level, Level B they is working comfortably at that level, and Level A means that they is working at the top end of the level. The Government has suggested a child should achieve the following levels by the end of each school year: (i) Level 1b by end Year 1, Level 2a-c by end Year 2, Level 2a-3b by end Year 3, Level 3 by the end Year 4, Level 3b-4c by the end Year 5, Level 4 by the end Year 6.

This book has been graded for interest at 4-5 years. This book is part of a reading scheme, meaning that it is a book aimed at children who are learning to read. This reading scheme has multiple levels.

There are 16 pages in this book. This book was published 2010 by HarperCollins Publishers .

By Gervase Phinn, Illustrated by Linda Selby, Tomislav Zlatic and Sholto Walker Paul Shipton is an award-winning children's author. He published his first children's book in 1991, (Zargon Zoo). He lives and works in Wisconsin, USA. Collins UK has been publishing educational and informative books for almost 200 years.

This book is in the following series:

Collins Big Cat Phonics
The Collins Big Cat Phonics series allows readers to apply decoding skills whilst reading books by top authors and illustrators. The scheme is book-banded and tricky words and focus phonemes are highlighted in each reader to ensure systematic progression. All the books are complete stories or narratives, whilst guidance notes in the back of each book means they are suitable for send-home, making phonics straightforward for parents too.

No reviews yet