Richard III: Band 18/Pearl | TheBookSeekers

Richard III: Band 18/Pearl

Collins Big Cat


No. of pages 80

Great for age 6-12 years

Follow the twisted, evil plans of Richard III as he works his way to up become king of England. But, just how far will he go in order to reach the top, and once there, will he get the glory and triumph he so craves?

Pearl/Band 18 books offer fluent readers a complex, substantial text with challenging themes to facilitate sustained comprehension, bridging the gap between a reading programme and longer chapter books.

Text type: Fiction from our literary heritage

Curriculum links: English: fiction from the literary heritage


This book is part of a book series called Collins Big Cat .

This book has been graded for interest at 10-12 years. This book is part of a reading scheme, meaning that it is a book aimed at children who are learning to read. This reading book uses the phonics method. This approach concentrates on teaching children how to map between sounds and spellings, allowing them to decode written words into their constituent sounds. Phonics skill thus involves being able to split the written word 'cat' into the phonemes /k/, /a/, /t/, and to map from letter 'c' to phoneme /k/, from letter 'a' to phoneme /ae/ and from letter 't' to phoneme /t/. Decoding skill is useful when reading unfamiliar words which use regular spelling sequences.

There are 80 pages in this book. This book was published 2017 by HarperCollins Publishers .

Collins UK has been publishing educational and informative books for almost 200 years. Chris Powling is the author of more than 30 books for children, ranging from beginner readers to teenagers. A teacher and broadcaster, Chris was editor of the children's book magazine Books For Keeps for seven years.

This book contains the following story:

Richard Iii
I am determined to prove a villain' vows the sinister Duke of Gloucester as he prepares to seize the English Crown and become King Richard III. Follow the scheming, seductive Duke as he cheats and slaughters his way to the throne in one of the bloodiest chapters in the monarchys history. He masterminds the murder of his brother, his two nephews, and poisons his wife in order to marry his own niece. When his throne is challenged, his reign of terror is broken and the ghosts of his victims return to torment him.

This book is in the following series:

Collins Big Cat
The Collins Big Cat series is a fully structured reading scheme with both fiction and non fiction titles. The series was designed to build speaking and listening as well as reading skills. Every book contains a unique reader response activity plus reading tips including suggested comprehension activities and curriculum links.

No reviews yet