Is this a dagger which I see before me...?

A power-hungry general, his crazed wife, three interfering witches and some terrifying ghosts... Read on, through murder and mayhem, to discover the gripping story of Macbeth, one of Shakespeare's most famous tragedies.

Contains information about the background to Macbeth, its major themes, language, and Shakespeare's life during the time he was writing the play. Witches and witchcraft in 16th century England are also examined, to give the context in which the play was written.

The Short, Sharp Shakespeare series consists of six books that retell Shakespeare's most famous plays in modern English. Clever illustrations accompany each title, making them a great introduction to the Bard for children aged 9 and above.


This book contains the following story:

Macbeth is the bravest general in Scotland, and a loyal servant to King Duncan. But then three witches plant the seed of criminal ambition by suggesting that one day he could be king himself. Mad with ambition, and spurred on by Lady Macbeth, Macbeth sets out on a killing spree of former friends and rivals as part of a bloody path to power, until a final confrontation when he realizes too late that the witches have deceived him.

This book is in the following series:

Short Sharp Shakespeare Stories
The age-appropriate text in Short, Sharp Shakespeare Stories introduces readers to the play by re-telling the story in modern English. It's an ideal introduction to Shakespeare for children of 9 and above, and perfect for fans of the Tony Ross and Andrew Matthews series Shakespeare Stories.

No reviews yet