The dark is rising | TheBookSeekers

The dark is rising

Book 2, Dark is Rising

No. of pages 257

Great for age 12+
Before "Harry Potter", there was Susan Cooper's "The Dark is Rising". The original classic series comes to life with this action-packed feature-length movie. It's midwinter and Will Stanton, the seventh son of a seventh son, discovers his destiny on the eve of his birthday. Will must learn to harness the powers of the Old Ones and embark on an incredible battle against the terrifying Dark, an evil entity that threatens the world's very existence. Other books in the "Dark Is Rising" series are: "Over Sea, Under Stone", ISBN 978014030362; "Greenwitch", ISBN 9780140309010; "The Grey King", 9780140309522; and, "Silver on the Tree", 9780140311181.


This book contains the following stories:

The Light

The Dark is Rising
Its Christmas-time in the Stanton family house: presents, carol singing, good cheer. But for eleven-year-old Will Stanton something sinister has begun, inching round his subconscious, shouting silent warnings he cant decipher. Then on Midwinter Day Will wakes up to a different world silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. A world where evil lurks. Because Will is not the ordinary boy he always thought he was. He is the last of the Old Ones and the power to vanquish the evil magic of the Dark lies within him.

The Dark

This book is in the following series:

The Dark is Rising

Dark is Rising
The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper charts the fight between The Light and The Dark. The Dark is rising and The Old Ones must stop it.

Random House Modern Classics

Puffin Books

This book features the following characters:

Old Ones

Will Stanton

Merriman Lyon


No reviews yet