Cart and cwidder

Book 1, Dalemark Quartet

Diana Wynne Jones

No. of pages 232


The first book in the magical, epic adventure series from `the Godmother of Fantasy', Diana Wynne Jones. Now back in print!

For centuries, Dalemark has been a land divided by the warring earldoms of the North and South. Now, with the help of the mysterious gods of Dalemark, four extraordinary young people must join forces to reunify their beloved home.

When twelve-year-old Moril's father is murdered by soldiers, Moril inherits his ancient cwidder - a musical instrument with a mysterious past. As Moril and his siblings embark on a dangerous journey to escape the evil forces around them, he gradually learns how to channel the cwidder's strange and powerful magic. But is it enough to protect those he loves from the looming threat of war?


This book contains the following story:

Cart and Cwidder

This book is in the following series:

Dalemark Quartet

Oxford Children's Modern Classics

Puffin Books

No reviews yet

Other collections by Diana Wynne Jones