Hansel and Gretel

Book 3, Read it yourself with Ladybird

A Elt scheme

Reading level: Level 2, Junior Level, Junior

Jacob Grimm, Anastasiya Archipova, The Brothers' Grimm, Anastassija Archipowa

No. of pages 32

Great for age 3+
A woodcutter too poor to feed his children, Hansel and Gretel, takes them deep into the forest and abandons them at the will of his wicked wife. Poor Hansel and Gretel are very cold and hungry until they discovered a cottage made of cake and sweets in a forest clearing. Yet, the cottage is owned by a witch in disguise and she wants to cook and eat the children. How will they escape the wicked witch? Will they ever find their way home?


This book contains the following stories:

Grimms' Fairy Tales

Hansel and Gretel
Two children are sent into the woods. The first time, they follow a trail of stones back to the house, but the second time they use breadcrumbs, which are eaten by the birds. Lost and alone, they come upon a tempting gingerbread house, they can't resist entering. Little do they realise that inside lives a witch... and she thinks they'd make a delicious dinner.

This book is in the following series:

Piccolo Originals

Oxford Graded Readers

Young Activity

Read it yourself with Ladybird
Each Read it yourself book is very carefully written to include many key, high-frequency words that are vital for learning to read, as well as a limited number of story words that are introduced and practised throughout. Simple sentences and frequently repeated words help to build the confidence of beginner readers and the four different levels of books support children all the way from very first reading practice through to independent, fluent reading. Each book has been carefully checked by educational consultants and can be read independently at home or used in a guided reading session at school. Further content includes comprehension puzzles, helpful notes for parents, carers and teachers, and book band information for use in schools. Level 1: suitable for very early readers who have had some initial reading instruction and are ready to take their first steps in reading real stories. Each story is told very simply, using a small number of frequently repeated words. Level 2: ideal

Piccolo Picture Books

Piccolo Classics

Reading Series

Classic Fairy Tales

Bedtime Readers

Well Loved Tales

Sticker Fun Fairy Tales

Peepshow Books

The Jan Pienkowski Fairy Tale Library

Read it yourself

The Magnet

Jan Pienkowski's Fairy Tale Library

Usborne Young Reading
The Usborne Reading Programme is a collection of over 300 reading books, graded in seven levels and covering a wide range of subjects, both fiction and non-fiction. First Reading covers the first four levels, and Young Reading the next three.Series 1: These titles are for children who have just started reading on their own. They are 48 pages long and typically contain several short stories or one longer story divided into chapters. They use fairly short, simple sentences and everyday vocabulary.Series 2: These titles are for children who are reading more confidently. They are 64 pages long and use varied sentence lengths, more complex sentence structure and more challenging vocabulary.Series 3: These titles are for fully confident readers who still need to gain the stamina needed for standard length books. They use advanced sentence structure and vocabulary and have more complex plots with subplots.

No reviews yet